L’empreinte eau

Savez-vous quelle quantité d’eau vous consommez au quotidien?

L’EMPREINTE EAU EST UNE MESURE DE L’USAGE D’EAU DOUCE, EN VOLUME D’EAU CONSOMMEE ET/OU POLLUEE

L’EMPREINTE EAU PERMET DE MESURER LE VOLUME TOTAL D’EAU DOUCE UTILISEE POUR PRODUIRE LES BIENS ET SERVICES CONSOMMES PAR LES INDIVIDUS, PAR LES ORGANISATIONS OU PAR LES NATIONS (Arjen Y. Hoekstra, 2002).

L’empreinte eau se décline en trois composantes, verte, bleue et grise. Ensemble, ces composantes fournissent une vision globale de l’usage d’eau, segmenté en fonction de la source utilisée: pluie et humidité des sols (verte), eaux de surface et souterraines (bleue) et volume d’eau douce nécessaire à l’assimilation des polluants (grise).

L’empreinte eau verte correspond à la consommation d’eau de pluie par évaporation, stockée dans les sols ou absorbée par les plantes. Cette composante est particulièrement utilisée pour l’agriculture, l’horticulture ou encore les produits forestiers.

L’empreinte eau bleue est la quantité des eaux de surface et souterraines qui sont évaporées, utilisées à des fins productives ou qui sont plus globalement non retournées dans la même zone et sur la même période où elles ont été prélevées. L’irrigation à des fins agricoles, l’industrie et les usages domestiques peuvent notamment être concernés par l’empreinte eau bleue.

L’empreinte eau grise est le volume d’eau douce requis pour assimiler les polluants et répondre ainsi à des standards de qualité définis. Cela concerne aussi bien les pollutions déversées directement à travers un tuyau ou indirectement à travers l’écoulement des eaux et les fuites par les sols, les surfaces poreuses ainsi que d’autres sources diffuses.*

CALCULER VOTRE EMPREINTE EAU

 

References:

  • Site du Water Footprint Network www.waterfootprint.org
  • “The Water Footprint Assessment Manual. Setting a Global Standard”, Arjen Y. Hoekstra, Ashok K. Chapagain, Maite M. Aldaya and Mesfin M. Mekonnen 2011

Toutes nos dernières informations par email avec notre newsletter

Water Footprint

Do you know how much water you consume in your daily life?

The water footprint is a measure of humanity’s appropriation of fresh water in volumes of water consumed and/or polluted.

The water footprint is applied to measure the total volume of fresh water used to produce goods or services consumed by individuals, organisations and nations. (arjen y. Hoekstra, 2002).

 Fresh water is known as “sweet water” in several languages

The water footprint has three components: green, blue and grey. Together, these components provide a comprehensive picture of water use by delineating the source of water consumed, either as rainfall/soil moisture (green) or surface/groundwater (blue), and the volume of fresh water required for assimilation of pollutants (grey).

Green water footprint is water from precipitation that is stored in the root zone of soil and evaporated, transpired or incorporated by plants. It is particularly relevant for agricultural, horticultural and forestry products.

Blue water footprint is water that has been sourced from surface or groundwater resources and is either evaporated, incorporated into a product or taken from one body of water and returned to another, or returned at a different time. Irrigated agriculture, industry and domestic water use can each have a blue water footprint.

Grey water footprint is the amount of fresh water required to assimilate pollutants to meet specific water quality standards. The grey water footprint considers point-source pollution discharged to a freshwater resource directly through a pipe or indirectly through runoff or leaching from the soil, impervious surfaces, or other diffuse sources.

 

Calculate your Water Footprint

 

References:

  • Water Footprint Network web site www.waterfootprint.org
  • “The Water Footprint Assessment Manual. Setting a Global Standard”, Arjen Y. Hoekstra, Ashok K. Chapagain, Maite M. Aldaya and Mesfin M. Mekonnen 2011

All our latest content to your inbox a few times a month